Flash Fiction Foray: Lost Paradise

My friend, Matt at The Book Blogger has a weekly flash fiction challenge entitled, “Flash Fiction Foray.” He posts a song and you write a flash fiction piece (maximum of 100 words) based on the song. This week’s song is “Waterloo Sunset” by The Kinks. If you want to read more about the challenge or about the Book Blogger himself, then please head over to The Book Blogger.  My entry is below.

Photo By: Elizabeth Preston

Photo By: Elizabeth Preston

Title: “Lost Paradise”
Word Count: 100
Note: I apologize for the lack of indentation. I can’t figure out indentation on WordPress.

“I don’t need you,” she says.
The evening is chilly and busy taxis keep rolling by. I gaze at Julie and the dirty river flowing. Every Friday, she flies to Waterloo, and I don’t want to stay at home, so here I am.
“I don’t need to wander,” I counter.
“I don’t wander.”
“You meet Terry here every Friday night.”
Julie makes no sound.
“You wander,” I say.
“So?”
I feel old and dizzy. “Fifteen years together.”
“Terry actually tries and cares. He isn’t lazy like you.”
I look into the dark water and wonder what happened to my paradise.