Humor Contest: Guess What . . . .

Photo By: Elizabeth Preston

Photo By: Elizabeth Preston

I found out this week that I placed 5th in the international 1st/2nd Quarter 2015 “America’s Funniest Humor!”(TM) Writing Contest held by HumorPress.com. The contest had quite a lot of entries, so I’m very happy that I placed amongst the top writers. Hopefully, it shows that my previous humor writing award isn’t just a fluke and that maybe, just maybe, there’s some potential there. Or maybe I just got lucky again. Anyway, my entry, “HMO: Help Me Out,” is about my experience with finding new health insurance. Spoiler alert: it doesn’t go well, and I end up in an unhealthy relationship with a computer. You can read the story by clicking on the following link: “HMO: Help Me Out.”

“HMO: Help Me Out” will be featured in HumorPress.com’s main showcase until new results are posted after completion of the current contest, which is accepting entries through December 31, 2015. I encourage anyone who likes writing humor to apply. I know that there are some of you out there, and it’s a great opportunity to get recognized and to get a little cash. Yep, I got a cash prize too. Let’s just say that the sum wasn’t enough to buy a corvette, but it was enough to buy a few cups of coffee to keep me up at night writing.

Admittedly, I was a little teary when I found out the contest’s results. The sadness comes from this being the first award that I’ve gotten since my grandmother passed away, and it’s the first one that I don’t get to tell her about. She’s been there for every award, every graduation, every achievement, and every failure. She shared in my joy, and she shared in my sadness. Whenever I needed to work something out with my writing, I could always call her and bounce ideas around with her. Now, I’m in a world without her and, to put it eloquently, it sucks.

However, I know that she would be proud of this award, especially since she was such a big fan of laughing. She always made jokes, particularly ones of the sarcastic nature, and I loved making her laugh. In my mind, I can still hear her laugh when I think about it. I hope that, in some way, she can see this award and story and is laughing.