Moooom, They Copied Me: 6 Possibly Ripped Songs

Many songs have similarities. Who hasn’t gone, “Hey, that song sounds like this other song.” After all, there are only so many musical notes, scales, and sounds available to humans. However, some songs are . . . how do I put this . . . blatant and unapologetic copies of others songs. Here are some songs that, in my opinion (and, in some cases, the opinion of the courts) are ripped from other songs.

Disclaimer: These are all my opinions. Don’t sue me. I’m a writer and a student. Thus, I have no money.

1. Mayer Hawthorne “Your Easy Lovin’ Ain’t Pleasin’” (2009) and The Supremes’s “You Can’t Hurry Love” (1966)
This one is just ridiculous. The beginning, the bass line, the trumpets, the melody line, the drums, the tambourine—you didn’t even try to hide it did you, Mr. Hawthorne? Honestly, I don’t know why Hawthorne hasn’t been sued yet. Maybe “You Can’t Hurry Love” is so old that it is now considered part of the public domain. Who knows? Personally, I’ll take “You Can’t Hurry Love” over “Your Easy Lovin’ Ain’t Pleasin’” all day long.


2. Sam and Dave’s “Soul Man” (1967) and Sam and Dave’s “Hold On, I’m Comin’” (1966)
Well, I guess that it’s okay to copyright infringe on yourself . . . .


3. George Harrison’s “My Sweet Lord” (1971) and The Chiffons “He’s So Fine” (1962)
“My Sweet Lord” was George Harrison’s first solo single and, instead of getting praise, poor Harrison was slapped with a lawsuit by Bright Tunes Music Corporation for copyright infringement of “He’s So Fine.” In the end, the judge concluded that Harrison didn’t mean to copy “He’s So Fine,” but deemed that Harrison still had to pay $587,000.00 to Bright Tunes. You can read more here: “George Harrison vs Bright Tunes Music Corp.”


4. Led Zeppelin’s “Stairway to Heaven” (1971) and Spirit’s “Taurus” (1968)
One of the most iconic songs of all time stolen from another band? *gasp* Spirit actually toured with Led Zeppelin back in the day, and the last surviving member of Spirit has filed a lawsuit against Led Zeppelin. If you listen to the beginning instrumental of “Taurus,” it becomes very hard to deny the similarities between that song’s guitar lick and the iconic guitar arpeggio in “Stairway to Heaven.” Okay, let’s be honest. It sounds pretty much lifted straight from “Taurus.” The melodies of the two songs are different, but, man, that guitar.  It will be interesting to see what the courts decide. You can read more about the lawsuit here: “Spirit v. Led Zeppelin: Analysis of the ‘Stairway to Heaven’ Infringement Lawsuit.”


5. Vanilla Ice’s “Ice Ice Baby” (1990) and Queen & David Bowie’s “Under Pressure” (1981)
This one was so obvious that it is known as one of the most famous copyright infringements in music.


Vanilla Ice tried to deny the blatant ripping of “Under Pressure” in the clip below. Right. The bass lines are different. Sure, Mr. Vanilla Ice, sure.

6. John Mayer’s “Waiting on the World to Change” (2006) and Curtis Mayfield’s “People Get Ready” (1965)
Listen to the beginning melody line of each song. Methinks Mr. Mayer was influenced by/copied Curtis Mayfield’s “People Get Ready.” Although, if you’re going to copy an artist, you might as well copy one of the best.


I should say that music constantly influences other music, no matter the genre.  In a way, music is one big human and global collaboration.  Heck, Paul McCartney and John Lennon once said that they were hugely influenced by the American girl groups of the 1960s.  However, there is a difference between giving a musical nod to an artist and music plagiarism.  What are some songs that you think might be copies of other songs?

8 thoughts on “Moooom, They Copied Me: 6 Possibly Ripped Songs

  1. I think that there is only so many nice sounding rhythms you can come up with in the world so it’s inevitable that some songs sound the same. I believe Nirvana had a few similar sounding songs as well (Smells Like Teen Spirit and Rape Me), and I was quite intrigued by that. Despite that, I think the artists which came up with the later version just drew inspiration from older works (like you mentioned) and that’s alright, I guess. A very interesting post you got here and I enjoyed listening to the similar sounding tunes 🙂

    • Thank you very much for reading, and I’m glad that you enjoyed the post. 🙂 I think that being influenced by, and drawing inspiration from, past creative endeavors is one thing–perhaps an unavoidable thing. However, I think that that there is a line somewhere in which “influenced by” becomes “taking credit for something that isn’t yours.” I think that the line can be hazy, and maybe it varies from case to case.

  2. A friend of mine who writes music in Nashville told me, “All the music has already been written.” I wonder if all the stories have been told?

  3. What an interesting post! I’m going to have to give it some serious thought. Hard for me because in 1972 I started listening backwards. I know very little of the music that came out after that, save for a bit of Broadway. Makes me wonder how many books fall into that category.

    • Thank you, Calen. 🙂 I’m glad that you liked it. I can’t really think of any songs that might be copyright infringement that aren’t from the 1980s on. Perhaps that warrants some research and maybe another blog post–“Possibly Ripped Songs: Part Deux.” That books idea is intriguing as well. I’ll have to look into that. Thank you for the idea! 🙂

  4. Lady Gaga’s “Born this Way” seems like a copy of Madonna’s “Express yourself”. But hey, since Madonna has also borrowed heavily from greats before her, how can she complain? Like poetry, we build on what came before. It is only when it is downright plagiarism that there is reason for concern.

Leave a Reply

